My first (and scary) blog post.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

 

Life sometimes could be really ironic.

As a part of the first assessment during our CMWP course, all the students were required to blog about an issues that occurred during our Melbournenoir work project and I have no idea what to write.

As ironic as it may seem, the inability to write a blog will be my issue or topic.

The project involved the realization of a photo story and a short video using different kinds of social media and then posting all the work in a blog.

The creative process was well steered, because the teacher give us some constraints and rules to follow, that in my point of view, help us to produce a good photo’s and video’s materials to work with.

I feel that almost every student have done a good job, even though for some of us was more challenging because they had never shoot and edit a video before or they didn’t knew the noir genre.

 

stream

 

Fortunately I came from a movie studies background, cause of my bachelor degree, and I was already an user of the social network (twitter, instagram, youtube) that we had to use to upload our material, so the “multimedia” part of the project was pretty easy for me to do.

 

 

However, I can not say the same think about writing this blog post.

There are many reasons that make me feel anxious about it.

First, English is not my first language. Another challenge is that I’m not confident at all with reflective writing, so I don’t really know how to put my thoughts in order. And last, I had never had a blog, and I’m also not a great blog’s reader, so I’m scared that what I’m writing is not interesting or helpful for other people.

I have done some online research about my issues and it turns out that writing IS NOT EASY for anyone.

So what’s that scary about writing?

According to all the articles that I’ve read, the most common fear of writers is failure.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thinking that your writings are not worth sharing with people, or that the readers will criticize you, or even worst fearing that you will fool yourself, are all things that would hold you back from start writing.

This is what I learned.

The best think you can do to overcame this problem is accepting your fear, taking the risk and do it anyways!

People may or may not like what you have to say, but you’ll never now if you don’t try, and in the worst scenario you can always learn from your mistake.

 “You must be very polite with yourself when you are learning something new.”  

-Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

Writing in your own language is already challenging, writing in a second language could be even more difficult.

Get rid of the idea that you need to have a perfect english, the only important think is that your readers can understand what you are trying to say.

Another trick is using content, other that word that can help people to get your message, like images, charts, videos an so on.

Last but not least, practice is the only thing that can make your writing better, no matter how bad your first pieces could seems, if you want to improve you have to learn by doing.

 

 

 

References:

http://www.smartpassiveincome.com/blogging-online-english-not-primary-language/
http://www.problogger.net/the-7-deadly-fears-of-blogging-and-how-to-overcome-them/
http://www.braidcreative.com/blog/how-to-deal-with-the-fear-of-blogging
http://thewritepractice.com/common-writing-fears/
https://nerdybookahs.wordpress.com/2013/11/10/blogging-in-a-foreign-language/
http://www.problogger.net/why-my-blog-motto-is-done-and-not-perfect/
http://writing-problems.tumblr.com/

 

Leave a Reply

